Cast Page Diaryland Home Current Entry Journal Archive Design
by Cassandra of Nearlythere Email me!

Reading Online:

Redheads + 1





Quickie
2004-07-20, 10:09 p.m.

This is just a quick and random update, and I'm being extra brave by typing right into the Diaryland box:

- I've started my new job and I love it.

- More than 100 cheerleaders ranging in ages from six to twelve are in my building right now. Summer conferences runs their show, so I don't have to deal with them in any way, but GOOD GOD are they loud.

- I love my apartment. It's small and a total shitball wreck right now, but I'm making it my space.

- I talked to T over the weekend for the first time in a week. We haven't gone more than 48 hours without speaking since we met, so this has been an unusual adjustment.

- Reesie and I got into it this week when I was telling her about T's phone call. I have forgotten how much it hurts to fight with a close friend, but how lucky I am to have such awesome friends that can be adults about conflict.

- Squish is getting married in like four months and I have done nothing to plan a shower, budget for a shower, or any of the like. I also am praying to the WW Gods that I will be able to fit into my MOH dress for her wedding.

- I reallyreally want to go to Ohio later this year.

- I also reallyreally want to go to Oklahoma, Connecticut, down the shore, and D.C. later this year, but nobody has mailed me a big box of money to buy plane tickets.

- I am brokity broke from the moving expenses and the getting-ready-for-school expenses that I'm incurring, yet won't be reimbursed for for another six weeks. Old Apartment, where is my deposit refund?

- My uterus is STILL aching from the sight of the most beautiful baby that I encountered yesterday.

- I am not pregnant, and thus, have no Nigerian souvenirs. THANK GOD.

- The deadline for acceptance to my grad program is October something. There is no way in hell I will get my shit together by then, so I imagine I will be taking classes at-large for at least the winter semester and applying for the program for the summer or fall semesters.

- I bought a cheap paper planner today. I've been a PDA snob for the last...seven? years and I forgot how simple it could be to schedule appointments. Since I now have three computers and multiple other calendars to maintain, I decided to go back to basics for my own personal organization, especially since one of my goals with this job is to become more laid-back and relaxed in general.

- I'm still totally organizing my files in color-coded files and hanging folders, though.

- Kat linked me over the weekend, and sent me lots of new traffic. I have loved reading her site for quite some time, so this was very flattering. (Welcome, SkinnyKat readers!)

- I am still in love with Old Navy.

- I also love the fact that my BRAND NEW Old Navy pants are officially too big and the next time I go there to spend a lot of dollars, I will have to buy a smaller size. Oh, hell yes.

- My work e-mail is still not working, so this is frustrating me a great deal.

- However, my phones are finally working, which is a very good thing.

- I need suggestions for inexpensive wall art/decor to take up large amounts of space. My apartment ceilings are high and I have large amounts of blank wall space in all of my rooms. I do not have large amounts of dollars. Please do not recommend that I go buy some big-ass Monet prints from art.com.

- I'm still planning on framing covers of vintage cookbooks for my kitchen.

- What about bathroom art? Something (or two somethings) smallish for that space would be perfect.

- My cats got declawed today. I want to go hug them and tell them that I love them a whole bunch and that their little feet will be okay in a few days.

- I'm going to see Fahrenheit 9/11 on Friday. I also want to see Dodgeball.

- I'm debating about re-starting my Netflix subscription or cancelling it altogether. It's nice and convenient and wonderful...but with the price hike and tax, it's almost $25 a month for movie rentals. Will I have time to watch at least six movies a month? I also no longer live in a city with a distribution center, which makes turnaround time at least a day longer on each end. Argh.

- What if my staff hates me? What if they think I am a hard-ass or a pushover or a giant raging bitch?

- WHY WON'T THESE CHEERLEADER CAMPERS SHUT UP AND GO TO BED?